Bettye LaVette – Blackbirds (Vinyl LP)


Out of stock

SKU: 602508725845 Categories: , , , Tag:


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2020

Label:  Verve


Track List

Side A

  1. I Hold No Grudge
  2. One More Song
  3. Blues For The Weepers
  4. Book Of Lies
  5. Romance In The Dark

Side B

  1. Drinking Again
  2. Strange Fruit
  3. Save Your Love For Me
  4. Blackbird



Blackbirds features songs primarily popularized by women who were the “bridge she came across on.” The album finds LaVette in top form with powerful renditions of songs that touched her personally. From Dinah Washington’s “Drinking Again,” Nina Simone’s “I Hold No Grudge” and more, they are all delivered in LaVette’s rich & raspy tone. Blackbirds honors LaVette’s heritage as an R&B singer and the women who came before her.


You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required