Big Chief Monk Boudreaux – Bloodstains & Teardrops


In stock


Release Date: 2021

Label: Whiskey Bayou Records


Track List

  1. Bloodstains And Teardrops
  2. Should’ve Been A Preacher Man
  3. Mr. Okra Man
  4. Choo Choo
  5. Kick Me Down
  6. Blues, Blues, Blues
  7. Kingston Blues
  8. On Bended Knees
  9. Blue Mountains
  10. Indian Blues



  • Joseph “Monk” Boudreaux – vocals, tambourine
  • Tab Benoit – guitar, drums, keyboards
  • Damon Fowler – guitar
  • Eric Johanson – guitar
  • Jason “Welsh Bass” Welsh – bass
  • Corey Duplechin – bass
  • Michael Doucet – fiddle, guitar
  • Johnny Sansone – harmonica, guitar
  • Ali Meek – backup vocals
  • Wayne “Unga Barunga” Thompson – drums
  • Produced By – Tab Benoit & Rueben Williams



For this project he traveled to Jamaica and back, finding his Reggae groove with the local musicians before returning to Louisiana to finish the record.

Monk had never been to Jamaica before. He and manager Rueben Williams went to Jamaica with guitarist Damon Fowler and spent a week looking around Kingston, driving up into the hills to see Bob Marley’s grave and recording with a reggae band and a toasting-style backup vocalist at Tad’s International Limited studio.

The six songs Monk cut there reflected the inspiration he got from being in Jamaica and seeing the parallels to his New Orleans home.

On his journey from the island to the swamps he is joined by a plethora of music legends including Tab Benoit, Michael Doucet, and Johnny Sansone as well as Jamaican and Louisiana musicians.
Back in Louisiana, co-producer Tab Benoit cut additional material at his studio to complete the album. But the lines between blues, swamp music and reggae become blurred as Monk develops his songs.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required