Billie Holiday – Lady In Satin


Out of stock

SKU: 8436569194300 Categories: , , Tag:


Release Date: 2019

Label: Jazz Images


Track List

  1. I’m A Fool To Want You
  2. For Heaven’s Sake
  3. You Don’t Know What Love Is
  4. I Get Along Without You Very Well
  5. For All We Know
  6. Violets For Your Furs
  7. You’ve Changed
  8. It’s Easy To Remember
  9. But Beautiful
  10. Glad To Be Unhappy
  11. I’ll Be Around
  12. The End Of A Love Affair
  13. Prelude To A Kiss
  14. A Ghost Of A Chance
  15. Gone With The Wind
  16. Come Rain Or Come Shine
  17. What’s New?
  18. Fine And Mellow



Lady in Satin marked Billie Holiday’s last big hit and her second to last album ever. It represents something close to her swan song. Although some live recordings made after the LP exist, and she even made a second album with Ray Ellis for MGM, none of these documents were as enduring as Lady in Satin. In fact, Billie herself loved this LP, on which she fully impregnates the music with her soul, even though the effects of a lifetime of drug abuse and alcoholism are apparent in her voice. Most jazz fans now consider Lady in Satin to be Holiday’s last great effort. By early 1959 she had cirrhosis of the liver. She stopped drinking on doctor’s orders, but soon relapsed. On May 31, 1959, she was taken to Metropolitan Hospital in New York for treatment of liver and heart disease. She died on July 17,1959 at the age of 44.


Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required