Boswell Sisters – Syncopating Harmonists from New Orleans


In stock

SKU: 734021040621 Categories: , , Tag:


Release Date:  1992

Label:  Take Two Records


Track List

1 I’m In Training For You 1:44
2 When The Little Red Roses Get The Blues For You 2:17
3 Does My Baby Love? 1:53
4 Song Of The Dawn 3:12
5 Liza Lee 1:34
6 Rarin’ To Go 2:13
7 There’s A Wah-Wah Gal In Agua Calliente 1:22
8 I’m On A Diet Of Love 2:06
9 The One I Love Just Can’t Be Bothered With Me 3:06
10 Swanee Mammy 3:14
11 If It Ain’t Love 2:55
12 Putting It On 2:43
13 Don’t Let Your Love Go Wrong 2:29
14 It’s Written All Over Your Face 3:17
15 Why Don’t You Practice What You Preach 2:53
16 Every Little Moment 2:47
17 Way Back Home 3:16
18 The Object Of My Affection 3:22
19 I’ll Never Say “Never Again” Again 1:41
20 Lullaby Of Broadway 2:36



The Boswell Sisters were the premiere jazz vocal group (along with the early Mills Brothers) of the 1930s. This Take Two CD not only has nine enjoyable (but mostly fairly common) studio recordings from the 1932-35 period but nine numbers from a 1930 radio show and two (“I’ll Never Say ‘Never Again’ Again” and “Lullaby of Broadway”) that are taken from a 1935 program. Unfortunately the personnel is not given for the studio sides but the rarity of the 1930 show (which exclusively features songs not recorded elsewhere by this very appealing group) will make classic jazz collectors want to get this release anyway.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required