Bunk Johnson – Last Testament


In stock

SKU: 038153022525 Categories: , Tag:


Release Date:  1993

Label:  Delmark Records


Track List

1 Someday (You’ll Want Me To Want You) 2:50
2 Hilarity Rag 2:32
3 Some Of These Days 2:50
4 The Entertainer 2:52
5 Out Of Nowhere (Alternate) 2:48
6 You’re Driving Me Crazy 2:10
7 Chloe 2:30
8 The Minstrel Man 2:24
9 Maria Elena 2:38
10 Kinklets 2:49
11 Out Of Nowhere 3:10
12 Till We Meet Again 2:40
13 Chloe (Alternate) 2:49
14 Teasin’ Rag 2:44



  • Bunk Johnson – trumpet
  • Ed Cuffee – trombone
  • Garvin Bushell – clarinet
  • Don Kirkpatrick – piano
  • Danny Barker – guitar
  • Wellman Braud – bass
  • Alphonse Steele – drums



Bunk Johnson had a rather unlikely career. Completely forgotten and out of music by the late ’30s, he was given a new set of teeth and a trumpet and hailed as a legend. His final recording, which appears here along with two alternate takes, was arguably his best. Utilizing more modern players (trombonist Ed Cuffee, clarinetist Garvin Bushell, pianist Don Kirkpatrick, guitarist Danny Barker, bassist Wellman Braud, and drummer Alphonse Steele) than his usual New Orleans band, Johnson performed a wide variety of music, ranging from folk songs and swing standards (such as “Out of Nowhere” and “You’re Driving Me Crazy”) to some rags (most notably “The Entertainer”). Throughout, Johnson sounds at the top of his game, making this his definitive release.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required