Mike Hazeldine & Barry Martyn – Bunk Johnson: Song of the Wanderer (Book & CD)


In stock


Release Date:  2000

Publisher:  Jazzology Press

ISBN:  0963889079

Softcover,  276 pages

New old stock with small amount of shelf wear


Bunk Johnson is probably the most controversial figure in the history of jazz. The praise that his supporters lavished upon him was equalled only by the scorn of his detractors. He was proud and confident, and quick to exploit his benefactors, yet he could be hurt by the slightest criticism or when he felt friends had deserted him. These extremes mirror the life and personality of Bunk Johnson.

Following his rediscovery, his playing surpassed all expectations and his recordings gave the impetus to a world-wide movement that is more popular now, fifty years after his death, than when he was alive. Bunk paid little attention to the recordings he made and, paradoxically, often spurned opportunities that he had fought so hard to create.

This book charts the twists and turns of Bunk’s incident-packed life and by investigating the many myths that surround it, finds that the real story is better than the legends.


  1.  Bolden Style
  2.  Sidewalk Blues
  3.  Bunk Talking #1
  4.  Baby I’d Love to Steal You
  5.  Bunk Talking #2
  6.  Bunk Talking #3
  7.  Riverside Blues
  8.  Good Morning Blues
  9.  Don’t Fence Me In
  10.  Down In Jungle Town
  11.  Basin Street Blues
  12.  Heartaches
  13.  In the Gloaming
  14.  Basin Street Blues
  15.  I’ve Got Everything
  16.  St. Louis Blues

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required