Bunk Johnson – Rare & Unissued Masters Vol. One (1943-1945) [Vinyl 2-LP Set]


In stock


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2018

Label:  American Music

Released for Record Store Day, 2018. Gatefold sleeve.
Limited to 1000 copies


Track List

Side A

  1. Ballin’ The Jack
  2. Careless Love
  3. Panama
  4. Good Morning Blues

Side B

  1. Royal Garden Blues
  2. (I Wish I Could Shimmy Like My) Sister Kate
  3. Ole Miss
  4. Oh! Didn’t He Ramble

Side C

  1. Just A Closer Walk With Thee
  2. St. Louis Blues
  3. Basin Street Blues
  4. Maple Leaf Rag

Side D

  1. Bunk’s Blues In F
  2. Slow Drag’s Boogie Woogie
  3. Don’t Fence Me In
  4. Milenberg Joys



  • Banjo – Lawrence Marrero (tracks: A1 to B3, D2 to D4)
    Bass – Alcide “Slow Drag” Pavageau* (tracks: A1 to B3, D2 to D4)
    Clarinet – George Lewis (2) (tracks: A1 to B3, D2 to D4)
    Drums – Baby Dodds (tracks: A1 to B3, D2 to D4)
    Trombone – Jim Robinson (2) (tracks: A1 to B3, D2 to D4)
    Trumpet – Bunk Johnson (tracks: A1 to B3, D2 to D4)



  • Tracks A1 to B3 recorded July 31, 1944 to August 4, 1944, San Jacinto Hall, 1422 Dumaine Street, New Orleans.Tracks B4 to C2 recorded May 18, 1945, at George Lewis’s backyard, 827 St. Philip Street, New Orleans.

    Tracks C3 to D1 recorded May 7, 1943, at Bertha Gonsoulin’s home, 1782 Sutter Street, San Francisco.

    Tracks D2 to D4 recorded May 14-15, 1945, at George Lewis’s home, 827 St. Philip Street, New Orleans.

Additional information

Weight 10 oz
Dimensions 13.0 × 1.0 × 13 in

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required