Carriere Brothers & Lawtell Playboys – La La: Louisiana Black French Music


In stock


Release Date:  2012

Label:  Maison de Soul Records


Track List

The Carriere Brothers

1.  Zydeco À Carrière
2.  Robe À Parasol
3. Blue Runner
4. Blues Of The Lonesome Road
5.  Johnny Peut Pas Danser
6. Valse À Cherokee
7.  Bosco Stomp
8.  Blues À Bébé

The Lawtell Playboys

9. Eunice Two Step
10. Lucille
11. Baby Please Don’t Go
12. Personne P’olé Danser Avec Moin
13. Oh Bye Bye
14. Yé Tou’ Mandé Pou’ Toi



“La La” is back! The black French country dance music on this record flows from the convergent streams of Cajun, Afro-Caribbean & Afro-American music. It is simply called “Zydeco” or “La La” by the people who play and dance to it. This recording brings together two families, three generations and many friends, presenting the lively rural Louisiana French Creole traditions of home and club music loved by all. A 1977 release, this album hasn’t been available for quite some time. We are proud to bring it back to life as part of our ValueDisc series. The enhanced CD includes the original lyric transcriptions & translations as well as a digital CD booklet.


You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required