Chris Barber & Dr. John – Mardi Gras At The Marquee (Vinyl 2LP)


In stock



Release Date:  2023

Label:  Music On Vinyl


Track List

Side A

  1. Bourbon Street Parade
  2. Darktown Strutters’ Ball
  3. New Stack a Lee
  4. Life
  5. South Rampart Street Parade

Side B

  1. Oh Eliza
  2. Down in San Anton
  3. Panama

Side C

  1. Right Place, Wrong Time
  2. Such a Night
  3. Iko Iko
  4. New Orleans Brass Band Blues

Side D

  1. The Wicked Shall Cease
  2. Big Bass Drum
  3. Mac’s Boogie Woogie
  4. You Lie Too Much
  5. Memories of Smiley



180 gram audiophile vinyl

Gatefold sleeve printed on heavy cardboard with linen laminate finish

Sleeve contains liner notes by Gerard Bielderman and Mario Silvester

Recorded live at the famous Marquee venue, London, in 1983

Limited edition of 1000 individually numbered copies on blue coloured vinyl

Mardi Gras At The Marquee is the funk/brass album by trombonist Chris Barber and pianist Dr. John. In 1983 the famous London music venue The Marquee celebrated its silver jubilee. One of the founders was Chris Barber and he therefore asked New Orleans musician Mac Rebennack, better known as Dr. John (a.k.a. The Nighttripper), to give two special concerts at the Marquee. These live jazz and blues recordings include “Bourbon Street Parade”, “Oh Eliza”, “Iko Iko” and “Right Place, Wrong Time”.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required