Cousin Joe – From New Orleans ( 4-CD Set )


In stock


Release Date: 2011

Label: JSP Records


Track List

Disc: 1

  1. Broken Man Blues
  2. New Jailhouse Blues
  3. Levee Blues
  4. Layin’ My Rules In Blues
  5. Bad, Bad Baby Blues
  6. Bad, Bad Baby Blues [Alt] [Alternate Take]
  7. Saw Mill Man Blues
  8. Post War Future Blues
  9. Larceny Hearted Woman
  10. Just Another Woman
  11. My Love Comes Tumblin’ Down
  12. Wedding Day Blues
  13. Desperate GI Blues
  14. You Got It Comin’ To You
  15. Boogie Woogie Hannah
  16. You Ain’t So Such-a-Much
  17. Fly Hen Blues
  18. Lonesome Man Blues
  19. Little Eva
  20. Baby, You Don’t Know It All
  21. The Barefoot Boy
  22. If I Just Keep Still
  23. When Your Mother’s Gone
  24. Make Me As Strong As Samson
  25. When the Roll Be Called In Heaven
  26. My Tight Woman


Disc: 2

  1. Lightning Struck the Poorhouse
  2. Just As Soon As I Go Home
  3. Phoney Woman Blues
  4. Little Woman Blues
  5. It’s Dangerous To Be a Husband
  6. Old Man Blues
  7. Death House Blues
  8. Too Tight To Walk Loose
  9. Big Fat Mama
  10. Come Down Baby
  11. Bachelor’s Blues
  12. Don’t Pay Me No Mind
  13. Stoop To Conquer
  14. Bad Luck Blues
  15. Box Car Shorty and Peter Blue
  16. Beggin’ Woman
  17. Sadie Brown
  18. Evolution Blues
  19. Box Car Shorty’s Confession
  20. Looking For My Baby
  21. High-Powered Gal
  22. Chicken a La Blues
  23. Poor Man Blues
  24. Living On Borrowed Time
  25. Lovesick Soul
  26. Second Hand Soul
  27. Dinah
  28. Won’t Settle Down


Disc: 3

  1. Misery
  2. A.B.C.’s, Pt. 1
  3. A.B.C.’s, Pt. 2
  4. How Long Must I Wait
  5. Sleep Walking Woman
  6. Easy Rockin’
  7. Hole In the Ground
  8. You’ll Never Get Nothing Without Trying
  9. Ramblin’ Woman
  10. Feel Like a Million
  11. Old Man’s Sweetheart
  12. I Saw Mommy Kissin’ Santa Claus
  13. Back Trackin’ (Dr Daddy-O)
  14. Confused
  15. Fishtails
  16. You Shouldn’t
  17. Baby, What’s New
  18. You Ought To Know
  19. I’ll Never Be Free
  20. My Last Good-Bye
  21. Ooooh La La
  22. Gold Ain’t Everything
  23. Suzette
  24. Bear Hug
  25. Each Time
  26. Yeah! Yeah! Yeah!


Disc: 4

  1. Have Mercy
  2. Helping Hand [Take 6] [Take]
  3. Pity Poor Me [Take 5] [Take]
  4. Little Girl of Mine
  5. I Know [Take 6] [Take]
  6. I’ll Never Let You Go
  7. It Hurts Me To My Heart [Take 3] [Take]
  8. Don’t Take Your Love From Me
  9. Chickee Wah Wah
  10. I Can’t Stop Lovin’ You
  11. You Can’t Stop Her
  12. Loberta
  13. Oh Me Oh My [Take 2] [Take]
  14. Dearest Darling
  15. Hush Your Mouth
  16. Havin’ a Good Time
  17. Well I’ll Be John Brown
  18. High Blood Pressure
  19. Rockin’ Behind the Iron Curtain [Take 2] [Take]
  20. Don’t You Just Know It
  21. For Cryin’ Out Loud
  22. Would You Believe It (I Have a Cold)
  23. I’ll Never Let You Go [Take 1] [Take]
  24. I Know [Take 1] [Take]
  25. It Hurts Me To My Heart [Take 1] [Take]
  26. Chickee Wah Wah [Take 4] [Take]
  27. Helping Hand [Take 5] [Take]
  28. Pity Poor Me [Take 1] [Take]


Cousin Joe’s early life was violent and eventful, a bootlegging father who beat him and a mother who left home. Along the way he learned to play monte, cotch and coon can from his cousin. He bought a ukulele for $1.75, and used his prodigious musical skills to escape a world of workaday drudgery. He quit education before high school to work as a plasterer’s helper. Other jobs followed, including a position at Walsh Lundy’s Busy Bee Shoe Repair Shop. One day, while he was playing his ukulele, he was heard by John McElroy and John Green, two dancers. They were impressed enough to persuade him to join them. Joe formed part of their troupe, dancing and playing for tips. He moved on, working at the Sazerac Club, then The Plaza and the Grand Terrace. By now he’d graduated to a six-string guitar and had a band that included pianist Louis Givens. He was on his way. This collection chronicles his progress. Also featured are New Orleans personalities Paul Gayten and Bobby Marchan. Both had talent that deserved to be heard far beyond the Big Easy.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required