Deacon John – Jump Blues (Vinyl LP)


In stock



Release Date:  2024

Label:  Vetter Communications


Track List

Side A

  1. Big Chief
  2. Jumpin In The Morning
  3. Nobody Knows You
  4. Go On Fool
  5. Someday

Side B

  1. Lipstick Traces (feat. Allen Toussaint)
  2. Piece Of My Heart (feat. Teedy Boutte)
  3. Losing Battle
  4. Tipitina (feat. Dr. John)
  5. No Buts, No Maybes
  6. Going Back To New Orleans
  7. Stagger Lee



A sizzling roster of New Orleans musicians and featured performers salutes the “jump blues” tunes of the ’50s and ’60s, a big band/rhythm hybrid which formed the bridge between World War II era big band swing and early rock ‘n’ roll. A professional musician for 40 years, Deacon John has performed on countless seminal recordings and now preserves his legacy forever with this dazzling concert, a celebration of joy, spiritual uplift and toe-tapping music you’ll savor again and again!

It’s billed as “a celebration of the artists, writers, and producers who have made New Orleans music so recognizable and influential,” and this hour-long concert, recorded in ’02 in the Crescent City itself, is exactly that. Frontman “Deacon” John Moore (who played guitar on classics like Lee Dorsey’s “Workin’ in a Coalmine”) is a good if not exceptional singer, but there are a host of great musicians on hand here to help him out, including producer-writer Allen Toussaint, Dr. John, vocal group the Zion Hamonizers, and others. Their “jump blues” (a cross between big band jazz, R&B, and rock & roll) brings to mind immortals like Count Basie, Louis Jordan, and Louis Prima, but this is New Orleans music all the way (the Fats Domino influence is also unmistakable), and the tuxedoes and somewhat formal concert hall setting do nothing to diminish the joyous, swinging vibe. Great stuff. –Sam Graham

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required