Earl King – More Than Gold: The Complete 1955-1962 Ace & Imperial Singles (Ltd. Ed. )


Out of stock


Release Date: 2019

Label: Soul Jam


Track List

  1. Come On ( parts 1&2 )
  2. Love Me Now
  3. Everybody’s Carried Away
  4. Little Girl
  5. Is Everything Alright
  6. Those Lonely, Lonely Nights
  7. Well’o Well’o Well’o Baby
  8. I’ll Never Get Tired
  9. Trick Bag
  10. Buddy It’s Time To Go
  11. The Things That I Used To Do
  12. I’ll Take You Back Home
  13. You Can Fly High
  14. Come Along With Me
  15. You Better Know
  16. My Love Is Strong
  17. Mama And Papa
  18. You’re More To Me Than Gold
  19. Those Lonely,  Lonely Feelings
  20. Don’t You Know You’re Wrong
  21. Baby You Can Get Your Gun
  22. It Must Have Been Love
  23. Always A First Time
  24. A Case Of Love
  25. Mother Told Me Not To Go
  26. We Are Just Good Friends
  27. Weary Silent Night
  28. I Met A Stranger
  29. I Can’t Help Myself
  30. Don’t Cry My Friend
  31. Don’t You Lose It



  • Earl King – vocals and electric guitar
  • Lee Allen – tenor sax
  • Nat Perrillat – tenor sax
  • Alvin “Red” Tyler – baritone sax
  • Dave Bartholomew – trumpet
  • Frank Fields – bass
  • Edgar Blanchard – bass
  • Allen Toussaint – piano
  • James Booker – piano
  • Charles Williams – drums

THE COMPLETE 1955-1962 ACE & IMPERIAL SINGLES One of the cornerstones of New Orleans blues and R&B, the great Earl King was a superb all-around singer, an unorthodox guitarist, and an inventive songwriter. He composed well-known standards such as “Come On” (which would later be covered by Jimi Hendrix on his album Electric Ladyland), “Those Lonely, Lonely Nights,” and “Big Chief” (Professor Longhair would record the most celebrated version of the latter song in 1964), just to name a few. King exemplified the funkier Crescent City sound of the time, too. This essential CD compiles all of the singles he made for the Imperial and Ace labels, between 1955 and 1962. This collector’s release also contains four additional sides by King from that period, cut for the small imprints Rex, Vin, and Post. All of these wonderful numbers form the building blocks of Earl King’s legendary musical legacy.


You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required