James Booker – Classified ( Remixed & Expanded )


In stock


Release Date: 2013

Label: Rounder


Track List

  1. Classified
  2. If You’re Lonely
  3. Warsaw Concerto
  4. Lawdy Miss Clawdy ( solo piano alternate take )
  5. Medley: Tico Tico / Papa Was A Rascal / So Swell When You’re Well
  6. All Around The World
  7. Angel Eyes
  8. Lonely Avenue
  9. Professor Longhair Medley: Tipitina / Bald Head
  10. King Of The Road
  11. Theme From The Godfather
  12. Lawdy Miss Clawdy
  13. I’m Not Sayin’
  14. Hound Dog
  15. All These Things
  16. Yes Sir, That’s My Baby
  17. Baby Face
  18. If You’re Lonely ( solo piano alternate take )
  19. Madame X
  20. One For The Highway
  21. Three Keys
  22. Amen



  • James Booker – piano, vocal, hammond B3 organ
  • Alvin “Red” Tyler – tenor saxophone
  • James Singleton – bass
  • Johnny Vidacovich – drums



Digitally re-mastered and expanded¬† edition of this 1982 album from the New Orleans pianist whose dizzying technique and mastery of the keyboard was matched only by his imagination and his soulfulness. Classified was one of only two studio albums released during his lifetime, and this remixed and expanded edition offers a poignant and often surprising look at his music. These 22 tracks, which include nine never-before-released performances, range from the pure rhythm and blues of ‘Grits Ain’t Groceries’ to the classical ‘Warsaw Concerto’ and ‘Madame X,’ to his astonishing version of the Jazz standard ‘Angel Eyes’. Whether playing solo or accompanied by saxophonist Alvin Red Tyler, bassist James Singleton and drummer Johnny Vidacovich, Booker ties together a giddy array of musical influences with virtuosity and an often quirky sense of humor.



You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required