Eddie Bo – Nine Yards Of Funk


In stock


Release Date: 1998

Label: Bo-Sound Records


Track List

  1. Jukin’
  2. It Will All Come Together
  3. Drifting In The Breeze
  4. I’m Gonna Make A Change
  5. Stop (One More Time)
  6. Straight Up
  7. Black Cat Bone
  8. Fingers Part 2
  9. Easy River
  10. Chicken Talk



  • Eddie Bo – vocal, electronic strings, conga, harmonica, tuba, timbale, claves, trumpet
  • Dwayne Nelson – drums
  • Mark Brooks – bass
  • Kenny Brown – guitar
  • Irving Banister – guitar
  • Carl LeBlanc – guitar
  • Louis “Red” Morgan – tenor & alto sax



Nine Yards of Funk is a smoother and more contemporary recording than you might expect from Eddie Bo. There is far more keyboard playing than on previous recordings, in instrumentals closer than ever to the funk-jazz border. Throughout, he makes use of a vocal range, extended now in both coarseness and depth, to amplify particular styles, narrowing the tone to punctuate more excited numbers with soul shouts, broadening on bluesier tunes to meld with the instrumental accompaniment; emphasizing versatility, he adds harmonica, tuba, trumpet, percussion, and synthesizer parts himself. Three numbers, “Jukin’,” “Black Cat Bone,” and “Chicken Talk,” hint at the grassroots tradition inherited from his mother; on the other hand, a three-song stretch early in the program—”It Will All Come Together,” “Drifting in the Breeze,” and “I’m Gonna Make a Change in My Life”—are more like New Age, easy listening numbers (in a soulful, blues-tinged New Age, admittedly), dedicated to the eternal seeker:

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required