Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong – Ella & Louis (Vinyl LP)


Out of stock


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2019

Label:  Vinyl Lovers


Track List

Side A

  1. Can’t We Be Friends
  2. Isn’t This A Lovely Day
  3. Moonlight In Vermont
  4. They Can’t Take That Away From Me
  5. Under A Blanket Of Blue
  6. Tenderly

Side B

  1. A Foggy Day
  2. Stars Fell On Alabama
  3. Cheek to Cheek
  4. The Nearness Of You
  5. April In Paris
  6. You Won’t Be Satisfied (bonus track)



Louis Armstrong’s career began nearly 15 years before Ella Fitzgerald’s. In fact, Louis was one of Ella’s first musical idols and even at the early stages of her career she would perform a song in her program (usually “Basin Street Blues”) imitating Louis’ voice. This routine – which can be heard and seen on different live performances by Ella – is her humorous way of paying homage to Louis. By the early forties, Ella was already a well-known star. Although both Ella and Louis had probably met and performed together previously, they wouldn’t be heard on record together until January 18, 1946, when they waxed a single 78 rpm disc coupling “The Frim Fram Sauce” with “You Won’t Be Satisfied” (the latter has been included here as a bonus). Although they scored a hit on the latter track, they wouldn’t return to the studio together until four years later. On August 25, 1950 they recorded “Can Anyone Explain” and a second hit, “Dream a Little Dream on Me”. Another studio session was made that year, and four titles were cut: “Necessary Evil”, “Oops”, “Would You Like to Take a Walk” and “Who Walks in (When I Walk out)”. This time the results were worse than on the previous attempts, mainly because of the low quality of the songs. This would dramatically change on the three LPs they made between 1956 and 1957, which complete their collective discography – with the sole exception of two live songs (“You Won’t Be Satisfied” and “Undecided”) recorded at a Hollywood Bowl concert on August 15, 1956. Those memorable albums were Ella & Louis (presented here), its sequel Ella & Louis Again and the selection of tunes from George Gershwin’s folk opera Porgy & Bess. While the latter utilized a big orchestra conducted by Russell Garcia, the first two albums were made in a small group format. And what an incredible small group! The Oscar Peterson Trio, featuring Herb Ellis and Ray Brown (who had been Ella’s husband) received the addition of drummers Buddy Rich (on the first album) and Louie Bellson (on the second). The results: some of the most fascinating jazz music ever produced.


  • LOUIS ARMSTRONG, trumpet & vocals
  • HERB ELLIS, guitar
  • RAY BROWN, bass
  • BUDDY RICH, drums

Hollywood, August 16, 1956

  • (*) BONUS TRACK:
  • Ella Fitzgerald (vc), Louis Armstrong (tp, vc) with Bob Haggart & His Orchestra:
  • Billy Butterfield (tp), Bill Stegmeyer (cl, as), George Koenig (as), Jack Greenberg,
  • Art Drellinger (ts), Milton Schatz (bar), Joe Bushkin (p), Danny Perri (g),
  • Trigger Alpert (b), Cozy Cole (d), Bob Haggart (cond).
  • New York, January 18, 1946.
Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required