Fela & Africa 70 – Everything Scatter (Vinyl LP)


Out of stock

SKU: 720841207313 Categories: , Tag:


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2015

Label:  Knitting Factory Records


Track List

Side A

1. Everything Scatter

Side B

1. Who No Know Go Know



Alto Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone, Piano, Vocals – Fela Ransome-Kuti
Baritone Saxophone – Lekan Animashaun
Bass Guitar – Franco Aboddy
Chorus – Felicia Idonije, Regina Osuhor, Shade Shehindemi, Suru Eromala, Tejumade Adebiyi
Chorus [Leader] – Bernadette Oghomienor
Congas [1st] – Henry Kofi
Congas [2nd] – Nicholas Addo
Congas [3rd] – Shina Abiodun
Drums – Tony Allen
Maracas – Isaac Olaleye
Percussion [Sticks] – James Abayomi
Rhythm Guitar – Leke Benson
Tenor Guitar – Ogene Kologbo
Tenor Saxophone – Christopher Uwaifor
Trumpet – Tunde Williams
Trumpet [2nd] – Ukem Stephen



Everything Scatter, originally released in 1975, is one of several masterpieces from early in Fela’s mid-1970s purple period. In three extraordinarily productive years, Fela released 23 albums of new material (or perhaps 25 such albums, for the historical records are imprecise). The purple period continued up to and immediately beyond the Nigerian army attack of 18 February 1977 which destroyed Fela’s self-governing commune, Kalakuta Republic. By the time Everything Scatter was recorded, Fela had put all Afrobeat’s key elements in place: the signature rhythms he had developed with drummer Tony Allen; edgy, jousting tenor and rhythm guitars; call and response vocals; fat horn arrangements and extended, jazz-based horn and keyboard solos; politically confrontational lyrics; and, crucially, the broken English Fela adopted to take his message beyond Yoruba speakers.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required