George Porter Jr. & Runnin’ Pardners – Crying For Hope


Out of stock


Release Date: 2021

Label: Controlled Substance Sound Labs


Track List

  1. Crying For Hope
  2. Porter 13A
  3. The Ladder
  4. Get Back Up
  5. I’m Barely
  6. Cloud Funk
  7. Wanna Get Funky
  8. Spanish Moss
  9. Just Start Groovin’
  10. Taste Of The Truth
  11. Too Hot Too Cold
  12. You Just Got Tired



  • George Porter Jr. – bass, vocals
  • Michael H. Lemmler – keyboards, vocals
  • Terence T. Houston – drums
  • Chris Adkins – guitar, vocals
  • Mia Borders – vocals



Legendary New Orleans funk bassist George Porter Jr. and his Runnin’ Pardners have released Crying For Hope, their first full-length album in a decade, via Controlled Substance Sound Labs and Color Red.

Recorded remotely during quarantine, the twelve-track album features a mix of unreleased Pardners tunes as well as an array of new cuts inspired by the country’s jarring moment of collective social justice reckoning last summer. As a press release notes, Crying For Hope serves as a “snapshot of the modern state of funk—and a testament to its place in the greater social conversation—from one of the most prolific and influential bassists of a generation.”

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required