Maceo Parker – Soul Food: Cooking With Maceo


In stock


Release Date: 2020

Label: Funk Garage

Track List



  • Maceo Parker – vocals, alto sax
  • Ashlin Parker – trumpet
  • Mark Mullins – trombone
  • Steve Sigmund – trombone
  • Jason Mingledorff – tenor & baritone sax
  • Ivan Neville – hammond organ, rhodes piano, synthesizer, background vocals
  • Derwin “Big D” Perkins – electric guitar
  • Tony Hall – electric bass, background vocals
  • Nikki Glaspie – drums, percussion
  • Angelamia Bachemin – congas
  • Erica Falls – background vocals
  • DJ Soul Sister, Tishi, La Shaun, Ziggy, Nikki – extra voices



2020 release. Soul Food – Cooking with Maceo blends raw, old school funk with the flavors of the New Orleans school of music. Parker worked with Ivan Neville, Nikki Glaspie and Tony Hall, as well as a host of local musicians to record the songs. The funky flavor of the city weaves it’s way through the album as the funk father and his band take on iconic songs of the Mississippi masters such as Dr. John’s voodoo funk of ‘Right Place, Wrong Time’, The Meters ‘Just Kissed My Baby, ‘ ‘Yes, We Can Can’ recorded by Allen Toussaint as well as takes on Aretha Franklin’s ‘Rock Steady’, Prince’s ‘The Other Side of the Pillow’ and Maceo’s long-time hero and Ray Charles saxophonist, David “Fathead” Newman’s ‘Hard Times’. We also get funky workouts from Parkers own back catalogue on ‘m a C E O’ and ‘Cross The Tracks’.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required