Irma Thomas – Soul Queen of New Orleans


Out of stock

SKU: 096094501424 Categories: , Tags: ,


Release Date:  1996

Label:  Mardi Gras Records


Track List

  1. Breakaway
  2. Ruler Of My Heart
  3. Hittin’ On Nothin’
  4. Hip Shakin’ Mama
  5. For The Good Times
  6. Don’t Blame Him
  7. Friendly
  8. It’s Raining
  9. Wish Someone Would Care


Irma Thomas has been the undisputed Soul Queen of New Orleans for some five decades now, and the quality and consistency of the work this extraordinary singer has done makes one wonder why she isn’t more of a household name. This set, recorded at Deep South Studios in Baton Rouge and Swallow Studios in Ville Platte, Louisiana, and featuring Freddy Wall and Joey Mucia on guitar, Pete Verbois on saxophone, and Stan Kemper on drums, and with Cora Jefferson and Alice Jackson handling background vocals, was originally released in 1978 and remains one of her finest LPs. Highlights include fine Crescent City versions of Kris Kristofferson’s “For the Good Times,” Jackie DeShannon’s “Breakway,” and Dan Penn’s “Friendly,” among others.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required