Jeremy Lyons – Make It Better


In stock


Release Date – 2014

Label – Independent


Track List

  1. I Don’t Mind The Rain
  2. Do You Ever
  3. Know
  4. Clouds On Her Face
  5. When I’m Feeling Better
  6. Not Drag Me Down
  7. Make It Better
  8. Lazy Susan
  9. Long Lunch
  10. Special Rider
  11. Three Score And Ten



  • Jeremy Lyons – Guitars, Vocals, Banjo, Keyboards, Percussion
  • Dinty Child – Field Pump Organ, Accordion, Mandolin
  • Jerome Deupree – Drums
  • Zack Kickman – Bass
  • William D. Lucey – Bass, Vocals, Percussion
  • Robbie Phillips – Bass


 Reviewed In OffBeat

Dan Willging (October 2014 Issue)

If it’s been a while since you’ve heard the music of Jeremy Lyons, his sonic artistry has changed somewhat since he left New Orleans in the wake of Hurricane Katrina.

He no longer does the retro-roots thing for dancing Southern audiences, but has come full circle to being a folk artist, since Bostonians prefer to listen to thoughtful lyrics than dance to hip beats. It’s a necessary maneuver to stay marketable but it’s also one that works.

On this 11-track affair that features seven originals, Lyons is primarily solo with light accompaniment, allowing vocals and lyrics to be front and center, not buried in a dense arrangement. Many songs, such as “Long Lunch,” “Lazy Susan” and the tuneful “I Don’t Mind the Rain,” are not only dandies but are of the ilk that could have easily been sung by first-generation folkies Woody Guthrie and Pete Seeger. Images of wanderlust prevail and there’s also a hope for bettering society and the plight of the workingman on “When I’m Feeling Better.”

Yet, at the same time, modern elements are also mixed in. A few tunes are not as square tempo-wise but are drifty and lazy; the slinky “Know” features Lightnin’ Hopkins-style licks over a layer of intriguing drumming provided by Morphine’s Jerome Deupree. “Clouds on Her Face” is probably the heaviest, with its tale of a mother and children fleeing from an abusive relationship. It’s natural to cringe with each passing verse, fearing the worst, but in the end, there’s relief.

They’re separated, happy and safe, maintaining a workable relationship with the now powerless oppressor.

Additional information

Weight 5.0 oz
Dimensions 5.0 × 5.5 × 0.5 in
Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required