Lightnin’ Slim – Rooster Blues (Vinyl LP)


Out of stock

SKU: 8436559463638 Categories: , Tag:


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2017

Label:  WaxTime Records


Track List

Side A

A1. Rooster Blues 2:33
A2. Long Leanie Mama 2:08
A3. My Starter Won’t Work 2:51
A4. “G.I.” Slim 2:27
A5. Lightnin’s Troubles 2:42
A6. Bed Bug Blues 2:34
A7 I’m A Rollin’ Stone 2:24

Side B

B1. Hoo-Doo Blues 2:21
B2. It’s Mighty Crazy 2:37
B3. Sweet Little Woman 2:15
B4. Tom Cat Blues 2:44
B5. Feelin’ Awful Blues 2:58
B6. I’m Leavin’ You Baby 2:28
B7. Love Me Mama 2:27



Drums – Clarence “Jockey” Etienne, Kenneth “Sam” Sample, Roosevelt Semple*
Guitar – Guitar Gable
Harmonica – Lazy Lester, Slim Harpo
Lead Vocals, Electric Guitar – Lightnin’ Slim*
Percussion – Monroe Vincent



When people talk about Louisiana swamp blues, this is what they’re talking about. Excello Records’ first foray into albums came with this wonderful collection of singles by Lightnin’ Slim, largely issued around the success of the title track, an R&B hit in 1960. “Long Leanie Mama,” “My Starter Won’t Work,” “It’s Mighty Crazy,” “Hoo-Doo Blues,” “Tom Cat Blues,” “Lightnin’ Troubles,” “G.I. Slim,” and “Feelin’ Awful Blues” are all certified swamp blues classics and about as lowdown as the genre can get possibly get. With Lazy Lester on harmonica for the majority of the tracks here, the stripped-down approach to Slim’s brand of blues gives these sides a decidedly front-porch ambience, with the added pulsating tape echo and oddball percussive effects just making everything on here sound even more doom-laden. An essential blues purchase.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required