Lonnie Johnson – Blues & Ballads (Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 8436563185090 Categories: , Tag:



Release Date:  2024

Label:  Blues Joint


Track List

Side A

  1. Haunted House
  2. Memories of You
  3. Blues for Chris
  4. I Found a Dream
  5. St. Louis Blues
  6. Another Night to Cry (*)

Side B

  1. I’ll Get Along Somehow
  2. Savoy Blues
  3. Back Water Blues
  4. Elmer’s Blues
  5. Jelly Roll Baker
  6. Some Day Baby (*)



New Orleans-born Lonnie Johnson was probably one of the most musically sophisticated blues guitarists. Lonnie set the standard that blues performers strived to match as the 1920s passed into the 1930s. Johnson’s legacy is immense, and not only in the blues field. Elvis Presley, Jerry Lee Lewis, LaVern Baker, Bob Dylan and countless others have recorded his songs. Lonnie left an indelible mark on modern American music. As happened with other bluesmen of his generation, Lonnie Johnson’s musical activity declined in the 1950s, reducing him to jobs as a cook or a janitor. Blues & Ballads is one of the albums that marked his comeback.


  • LONNIE JOHNSON – (electric guitar and vocals)
  • ELMER SNOWDEN – (guitar)
  • WENDELL MARSHAL – (bass)

Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, April 5, 1960.

  • (*) Bonus tracks:
  • A6: Lonnie Johnson – (vocals & guitar). New York, April 6, 1962.
  • B6: Lonnie Johnson – (voc. & guitar), Blind John Davis – (piano), Ransom Knowling – (b).
  • Chicago, December 14, 1944.
Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required