Marcia Ball – Presumed Innocent


In stock

SKU: 014551487920 Categories: , , Tag:


Release Date:  2001

Label:  Alligator Records


Track List

1 Scene Of The Crime
2 You Make It Hard
3 Count The Days
4 Let The Tears Roll Down
5 Louella
6 Fly On The Wall
7 I Have The Right To Know
8 Thibodaux, Louisiana
9 I’m Coming Down With The Blues
10 Shake A Leg
11 Somebody To Love
12 She’s So Innocent
13 You Make Me Happy



Accordion, Tenor Saxophone – Pat Breaux (tracks: 5,8,9,11)
Acoustic Guitar – Casper Rawls (tracks: 1,2,4,9,11,12)
Backing Vocals – Debbie Gardner (tracks: 4)
Baritone Saxophone – Mark Kazanoff (tracks: 4,6,9,13)
Bass – Roscoe Beck (tracks: 2,4,6,8,12)
Bass, Backing Vocals – Don Bennett (3) (tracks: 1,3,5,7,9,10,11,13)
Drums – Chris Hunter (4) (tracks: 6,8)
Drums, Backing Vocals – Keith Robinson (5) (tracks: 1,3,5,7,9,10,11,13)
Guitar – Derek O’Brien (3) (tracks: 2,4,8,12), Pat Boyack (tracks: 1,3,5,7,9,10,11,13)
Harmonica – Gary Primich (tracks: 1,4,8)
Organ – Riley Osbourn (tracks: 1,4,5,6,7)
Producer, Drums, Backing Vocals – Doyle Bramhall
Producer, Lead Vocals, Piano – Marcia Ball
Recorded By, Mixed By – Jared Tuten
Rhythm Guitar, Guitar – C.C. Adcock (tracks: 6,8)
Slide Guitar – Sonny Landreth (tracks: 6,8)
Tenor Saxophone – Brad Andrew (tracks: 3,5,10,11,13), Dan Torosian (tracks: 4), Paul Klemperer (tracks: 6,9)
Trumpet – Gary Slechta (tracks: 13), Wayne Jackson (tracks: 3,4,6,9)
Vocals – Delbert McClinton (tracks: 2)



Those looking for blues, R&B, rootsy rock & roll, gospel-tinged ballads, loungy supper club jazz, and boogie-woogie piano pounding all led by an instantly recognizable powerhouse voice infused with gritty soul will rejoice with Marcia Ball. Although this is only her sixth album since her career shifted into high gear with 1984’s Soulful Dress, Ball hits all those bases and more on her debut for Alligator. She’s as comfortable with heart-wrenching lost-love songs like this album’s touching “Let the Tears Roll Down” as with loose-limbed swampy piano/accordion-powered rockers such as “Louella.” Her show-stopping piano virtuosity takes a back seat for the majority of this release, as Ball turns up the tough R&B heat on a cover of “Fly on the Wall” with guests Sonny Landreth on slide guitar and backing singers right out of Aretha Franklin’s ’60s heyday. Horns also play a large part, underpinning the Bobby “Blue” Bland-styled Crescent City soul-blues and rolling Fats Domino piano of Don Covay’s “I’m Coming Down With the Blues.” The opening “Scene of the Crime,” powered by Gary Primich’s plucky harmonica, is one of Ball’s best tracks, with a snappy melody, gutsy singing, and Southern-fried R&B attack. Allen Toussaint’s “You Make It Hard” finds fellow Texan Delbert McClinton on duet vocals highlighting the track’s urging slow groove. Classy and subdued yet bubbling with passion, emotion, and a love of Southern-style music that explodes out of every track, with Presumed Innocent Marcia Ball has released what is arguably the finest and most inspired album of her career.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required