Mick Burns – The Great Olympia Band (Book & CD)


In stock


Release Date:  2001

Publisher:  Jazzology Press

ISBN:  0963889087

Softcover,  220 pages

Author Mick Burns is a British jazz musician, broadcaster and writer who has been researching the history of Dejan’s Olympia Brass Band for many years. His close friendship with Harold Dejan, Milton Batiste, Tuba Fats and other band members, past and present, has enabled him to produce a unique oral record of the most traveled band ever to come out of New Orleans.

Review – As a life-long jazz musician and New Orleans culture enthusiast, it was with some trepidation that I approached this book. I have often found similar accounts dissapointing and lacking in evoking the true spirit of the Harold Dejan and the band. However, within pages, I was hooked. British born (though evidently extremely insightful into New Orleans culture) author Burns clearly knows his stuff, and a combination of what is obviously dedicated passion on his part, along with accurate research finally stand to do the subject justice. This book comes highly recommended to anyone wanting a truly personal, alive and evocative account of this great jazz institution.


1. Lord, Lord, Lord

2. Telephone to Glory

3. Westlawn Dirge

4. Bugle Boy March

5. On The Square

6. Second Line

7. She’ll Be Comin’ Round The Mountain

8. The Blimp (NO. 31)

9. St. Louis Blues

10. E-Flat Blues

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required