Miles Davis – The Classic Collaborations 1953-1963 (8 Original Albums On 4 CDS)


In stock

SKU: 823564815800 Categories: , Tag:


Release Date: 2018

Label:  Enlightenment


Track List

Disc 1

  • Tasty Pudding
  • Floppy
  • Willie The Wailer
  • For Adults Only
  • Airegin
  • Oleo
  • But Not For Me
  • Doxy
  • Dig
  • It’s Only A Paper Moon
  • Denial
  • Bluing
  • Out Of The Blue

Disc 2

  • Dr. Jackle
  • Bitty Ditty
  • Minor March
  • Changes
  • Springsville
  • The Maids Of Cadiz
  • The Duke
  • My Ship
  • Miles Ahead
  • Blues For Pablo
  • New Rhumba
  • The Meaning Of The Blues
  • Lament
  • I Don’t Wanna Be Kissed (By Anyone But You)

Disc 3

  • Autumn Leaves
  • Love For Sale
  • Somethin’ Else
  • One For Daddy-O
  • The Dark
  • Concierto De Aranjuez (Adagio)
  • Will O’ The Wisp
  • Pan Piper
  • Saeta
  • Solea

Disc 4

  • All Of You
  • So What
  • On Green Dolphin Street
  • Round Midnight
  • Song #2
  • Once Upon A Summertime
  • Aos Pés Da Cruz
  • Song #1
  • Wait Till You See Her
  • Corcovado
  • Summer Night



Probably the most important figure in 20th century jazz, Miles Davis’ legacy has left a permanent impact on music of all kinds. His work paved the way for a number of major developments in the idiom, from cool jazz and hard bop to jazz fusion and experimentations with pop and hip hop. Unsurprisingly, Davis’ worked alongside some of the other most legendary jazz performers ever, of whom he was not only consummate in spotting the talents of early on, but who he would also combine perfectly to form the most dynamic backing bands to accompany him. Although almost exclusively a sole bandleader, Davis would on occasion work more closely with certain musicians, and of these collaborative works many still rank among his finest projects. Following a stand-out performance at the 1955 Newport Jazz Festival, at which Miles fronted a band including Thelonious Monk, Percy Heath, Connie Kay, Zoot Sims and Gerry Mulligan, he began a long term relationship with Columbia Records, and so began a staggering number of recording sessions and live dates across the next two years. Physically and mentally exhausted by 1957, Davis would have retired by age 30 had it not been for the intervention of Columbia producer George Avakian, who encouraged him to take a new direction and work with bigger ensembles than before. Davis then enlisted the help of old friend Gil Evans as arranger, sparking a partnership that would stretch across the next five years. Their first album together, Miles Ahead (Columbia, 1957), saw Davis play flugelhorn while fronting a group of 19 musicians, which included Wynton Kelly, Paul Chambers, Art Taylor and Lee Konitz. The album was among the most acclaimed recordings to ever utilise “Third Wave” – the blending of jazz, classical and world music in a continuous flow – and was hailed as a masterpiece by critics. This collection brings together nine albums from the early part of Miles Davis’ lengthy career and highlights the great man’s impact on the jazz genre.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required