Nathan Abshire – A Cajun Legend… The Best Of Nathan Abshire


In stock

SKU: 046346606124 Categories: , Tags: ,


Release Date:  1986

Label:  Swallow Records


Track List

1 Pinegrove Blues
2 A Musician’s Life
3 Sur Le Courtableau
4 Belisaire Waltz
5 Fee Fee Poncho
6 Service Blues
7 French Blues
8 Valse De Bayou Teche
9 Choupique Two Step
10 Valse De Holly Beach
11 J’Etais Au Balle
12 Kaplan Waltz
13 Lemonade Song
14 I Don´t Hurt Anymore
15 Shamrock
16 tracks Of My Buggy
17 Dying In Misery
18 Games People Play
19 Tramp Sur La Rue
20 Partie A Grand Basile



Nathan Abshire was born in 1913 near Gueydan, Louisiana. His love of the accordion began at the age of 6, when he’d sneak his uncle’s accordion away to practice. And practice he did – by the time he was eight, he had become accomplished enough to begin his long career as a regular musician. Years later, accompanying the Balfa Brothers to the Newport Folk Music Festival in 1967, he was one of the early representatives of Cajun music on the national scene. A Cajun Legend… The Best of Nathan Abshire (with guest musicians, the Balfa Brothers) is probably the most complete collection available of Nathan’s most popular recordings, compiled from the early Swallow recordings from 1965 to ’73.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required