Otis Redding – Now Playing (Vinyl LP)


Out of stock

SKU: 603497827879 Categories: , Tag:



Release Date:  2024

Label:  Rhino


Track List

Side A

  1. These Arms Of Mine
  2. Pain In My Heart
  3. Mr. Pitiful
  4. That’s How Strong My Love Is
  5. I’ve Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now)

Side B

  1. Respect
  2. Try A Little Tenderness
  3. (Sittin’ On) The Dock Of The Bay
  4. Hard To Handle
  5. I’ve Got Dreams To Remember



These ten original recordings capture a soul music meteor who blazed bright but all too briefly. Otis Redding arrived at Stax in 1962 as a roadie, walked out with a recording contract, then became the label’s biggest star over a five-year career. Aching ballads, pop tunes, gospel-fired workouts—whatever he sang, Otis made it sanctified. As his producer Steve Cropper said, “Otis was pure. He put everything into it.”

Otis Ray Redding, Jr. (September 9, 1941 – December 10, 1967) is considered one of the greatest singers in the history of American popular music and a seminal artist in soul and rhythm and blues. His singing style was powerfully influential among soul artists of 1960s and helped exemplify the Stax sound. Redding quit school at age 15 to support his family, working with Little Richard’s backing band, the Upsetters, and also performing at talent shows for prize money. Redding received many posthumous accolades, including the Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award and induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and the Songwriters Hall of Fame. He received the honorific nickname King of Soul. “(Sittin’ On) The Dock Of The Bay”, “Respect” and “Try A Little Tenderness” are among his best-known songs.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required