Porter Batiste Stoltz – Smith’s Olde Bar: Atlanta, Ga 10/30/2008 (2-CD Set)


In stock

SKU: 9327 Categories: , , Tag:


Release Date:  2009

Label:  High Steppin Productions


Track List

Disc 1

  1. Grits N Hurricanes
  2. I Get High
  3. Sugar For Me
  4. Take A Chance
  5. I Believe
  6. PBS (Funk The Best)
  7. Not Fade Away
  8. Them Changes
  9. PBS (Funk The Best)
  10. Down By The River
  11. Breathe
  12. Message From PBS

Disc 2

  1. Doom Doom
  2. All I Do Everyday
  3. Hey Pocky A Way
  4. Look Ka Py Py
  5. Funky Miracle
  6. Shakey Ground
  7. Funkin’
  8. Here But I’m Gone
  9. Fire Lamp
  10. Hokey Pokey With Russ
  11. Atlanta Skips Around
  12. Good Ol’ Funky Music



  • George Porter, Jr. – bass, vocals
  • Russell Batiste, Jr. – drums, vocals
  • Brian Stoltz – guitar, vocals



Porter Batiste Stoltz settled into Atlanta for what would be the first of two nights. Kicking it off with “Grits N Hurricanes,” the Atlanta, GA crowd at Smith’s Olde Bar seemed to know what to expect from the boys. After standard readings of the popular “I Get High” and Brian’s Stoltz’s “Sugar For Me,” PBS really dug in for an intense “Take A Chance” that had the band taking a lot of chances. Check out how wild the middle section of the song is, as well as the tail. The “PBS (Funk The Best) > Not Fade Away > Them Changes > PBS (Funk The Best)” segment included “After Midnight” (J. J. Cale) teases led by Russell and was a lot of fun. The second set started off with a silly reading of “Doom Doom,” a song from Porter Batiste Stoltz’s album Expanding The Funkin’ Universe that hadn’t been played in several months. You can hear the guys joking about it at the beginning if you listen carefully. The second set included another super-segue before slowing down for the dead-serious Curtis Mayfield penned “Here But I’m Gone.” Russell sent ’em skipping out of the club with the ever-popular “Hokey Pokey,” and a “Cissy Strut” fake-out until “Good Old Funky Music” tore the house down.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required