R.L. Burnside – Mr. Wizard


In stock

SKU: 04577803012 Categories: , Tag:


Release Date: 1997

Label: Fat Possum


Track List

  1. Over The Hill
  2. Alice Mae
  3. Georgia Women
  4. Snake Drive
  5. Rollin’ & Tumblin’
  6. Out On The Road
  7. Highway 7
  8. Tribute To Fred
  9. You Gotta Move



Artwork [Cover Art] – Derek Hess
Compiled By [Assembled By] – Matthew Johnson
Drums – Cedric Burnside (tracks: 3 to 6, 8), Russell Simins (tracks: 2, 7)
Guitar – Judah Bauer (tracks: 2, 7), Kenny Brown (2) (tracks: 2 to 8)
Guitar, Theremin – Jon Spencer (tracks: 2, 7)
Guitar, Vocals – R.L. Burnside
Recorded By – Bruce Watson (2) (tracks: 1 to 4, 7, 9), Rob Schnapf (tracks: 5), Robbie Norris (tracks: 6, 8), Tom Rothrock (tracks: 5)



“R.L. Burnside’s blues ain’t no kid glove, overproduced live shit. This is evil, wicked, mean and nasty. And that’s why it’s so cool.” – The Music Scene

“R.L. gets tired easily these days and welcomes a tornado’s help in finishing the job he started. Tidal waves, volcanoes, and yes, even wars – they are all his buddies. From town to town, country to country, they move on with a consistent beat, guitars yelling and screaming with the voice of God, and the Wizard sitting on a chair of skulls with any old guitar and moaning, “well, well, well,” at a bewildered audience.” – Excerpt from Liner Notes

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required