Rev. Leon Pinson – Hush-Somebody Is Calling Me (Vinyl LP)


Out of stock

SKU: 854255005132 Categories: , , Tags: ,


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2015

Label:  Big Legal Mess / Fat Possum Records


Track List

Side A

1. What God Can Do
2. Only Believe
3. Blessed Questions
4. I Have A Saviour I Can Depend On
5. Motherless Child
6. Hush – Somebody Is Calling Me

Side B

1. Search My Lord
2. Pray for Me
3. What A Friend We Have In Jesus
4. There’s No Friend Like the Lonely Jesus
5. Want to Die Easy When I Die
6. He’ll Understand and Say Well Done



Available on vinyl for the first time, this 12-track Fat Possum/Big Legal Mess collection of stripped down traditional blues songs performed by Rev. Leon Pinson alone on vocals and guitar was recorded in Cleveland, Mississippi in 1967 by folklorist George Mitchell. The album serves as the next installment in the George Mitchell Collection series of early blues recordings which also includes releases from the likes of Mississippi Fred McDowell, R.L. Burnside, Joe Callicott, Furry Lewis and J.W. Warren. A must have for blues enthusiasts everywhere!

“We found him playing outside this little store. We recorded him a lot on acoustic, but when he was out in public, he had a little loudspeaker and an electric guitar, and he made some noise. His gospel felt like blues, he had a really beautiful sound. He had this crystal slide guitar technique. I was originall going to include a chapter on him in Blow My Blues Away, but ended up using another gospel player, Robert Johnson, instead.” — George Mitchell

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required