Robert Finley – Goin’ Platinum!


In stock

SKU: 07559793436 Categories: , Tag:


Release Date: 2017

Label: Nonesuch


Track List

  1. Get It While You Can
  2. Medicine Woman
  3. If You Forget My Love
  4. Three Jumpers
  5. Honey, Let Me Stay The Night
  6. You Don’t Have To Do Right
  7. Complications
  8. Real Love Is Like Hard Time
  9. Empty Arms
  10. Holy Wine



History repeating, Robert Finley is another exceptional blues and soul musician getting well-deserved attention at an age when talent contests aren’t likely to consider him, whether it’s his hair that’s gone platinum or his new album, “Goin’ Platinum!”

Which is a real pity, since the 64-year-old, Louisiana native is a gem of a singer — both rough and refined — who lends instant credibility to any song.

A truncated “Mrs. Robinson”-like riff drives opener “Get It While You Can” and drafts the tonal blueprint for Finley’s second record — reverbed, scratchy guitars, handsome horns, sweet backup vocals, perfectly deft percussion and tasteful piano and organ sounds.

Produced and co-written by Dan Auerbach of The Black Keys, it includes legendary Memphis Boys Bobby Wood and Gene Chrisman, who backed Elvis Presley, Dusty Springfield and Aretha Franklin. Recorded swiftly at Auerbach’s Nashville studio, the freshness of the grooves on the 10 tunes is infectious.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required