Roberta Flack – First Take (Limited Clear Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 603497837410 Categories: , Tag:



Release Date:  2023

Label:  Atlantic


Track List

Side A

  1. Compared to What
  2. Angelitos Negros
  3. Our Ages or Our Hearts
  4. I Told Jesus

Side B

  1. Hey, That’s No Way to Say Goodbye
  2. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
  3. Tryin’ Times
  4. Ballad of the Sad Young Men



Limited silver colored vinyl LP pressing. The breakthrough debut by the iconic mistress of pop, jazz, soul, R&B, blues is unparalleled in the years since in it’s genre blending, emotional power, and raw impact. Recorded over 10 hours in 1969 during the turmoil of the late 60s in the wake of the assassination of Martin Luther King, and before the general realization of the cultural shift that would become embodied in Woodstock, First Take is the work of a woman who was known as a child prodigy and would later earn the title of genius. The album opens with “Compared To What,” a politically charged track that pre-dated Marvin Gaye’s “What’s Going On” (an incredible cover of which was released digitally by Flack in 2021), an emotional cover of “Angelitos Negros,” a definitive interpretation of Leonard Cohen’s “Hey, That’s No Way To Say Goodbye” and the generation-defining interpretation of “The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face,” First Take is a tour-de-force record that encapsulates the emotional rollercoaster of living in what a Confucian Curse might identify as “interesting times.”

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required