Shannon McNally – The Waylon Sessions (Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 766397476810 Categories: , , Tag:


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2021

Label:  Blue Rose Music


Track List

Side A

1. I’ve Always Been Crazy
2. You Asked Me To (Featuring Buddy Miller)
3. Out Among The Stars (Featuring Jessi Colter)
4. You Show Me Yours And I’ll Show You Mine (Featuring Lukas Nelson)
5. Black Rose (Featuring Buddy Miller)

Side B

1. This Time
2. I Ain’t Living Long Like This (Featuring Rodney Crowell)
3. I’m A Ramblin’ Man
4. Mammas Don’t Let Your Babies Grow Up To Be Cowboys
5. Help Me Make It Through The Night
6. We Had It All



Recorded with an all-star band and featuring special guests like Jessi Colter, Buddy Miller, Rodney Crowell, and Lukas Nelson, Shannon McNally’s extraordinary collection, The Waylon Sessions, isn’t so much a tribute to Waylon Jennings as it is a recontextualization: a nuanced, feminine rendering of a catalog long considered a bastion of hetero-masculinity. That’s not to say McNally has a softer, gentler take on the songs of Jennings and his outlaw compatriots here; in fact, just the opposite. Over and over again, she manages to locate a smoldering intensity – a searing hurt buried deep within the music’s deceptively simple poetry – and she hones in on it with a surgical precision. McNally doesn’t swap pronouns or couch her delivery with a wink; she simply plays it straight, singing her truth as a divorced single mother in her 40’s in all it’s beauty, pain, and power. The result is that rare covers record that furthers our understanding of the originals, an album of classics that challenges our perceptions and assumptions about just what made them classics in the first place.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required