Sir Douglas Quintet ‎– Live From Austin TX (Vinyl 2LP)


Out of stock

SKU: 607396523511 Categories: , , , Tag:


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2018

Label:  New West

Recorded January 21st, 1981 at the Austin City Limits TV show, Austin, Texas.


Track List

Side A

  1. Mendocino
  2. 96 Tears
  3. Rains Came
  4. Down On The Border
  5. It Was Fun While It Lasted
  6. I Keep Wishing For You

Side B

  1. Groover’s Paradise
  2. Goin’ Down To Mexico
  3. Who Were You Thinkin’ Of?
  4. Who’ll Be The Next In Line?
  5. Tonite, Tonite
  6. Old Habits Die Hard

Side C

  1. At The Crossroads
  2. (Is Anybody Goin’ To) San Antone
  3. Ya No Llores / Chicano
  4. You’re Gonna Miss Me
  5. She’s About A Mover



180-gram double LP

Recorded for the “Austin City Limits” television show in 1981. Doug Sahm is joined by Augie Myers and original Quintet drummer John Perez, along with son Shawn Sahm on rhytm guitar, Speedy Sparks on bass, and Alvin Crow on guitar. The Sir Douglas Quintet rocks the ACL audience, performing classics like “She’s about a Mover” and “96 Tears.”

“Few 1960s garage-band rockers enjoyed a more eclectic and enduring career than the late Doug Sahm. After his Sir Douglas Quintet recorded a string of hits, including ‘She’s About a Mover’ and ‘Mendocino,’ Sahm released both country and blues albums as a solo artist and subsequently formed the Texas Tornados as a Tex-Mex, Grammy-winning supergroup. This 1981 Quintet reunion performance, recorded for the ‘Austin City Limits’ series, finds Sahm and band touching all those musical bases, with Augie Meyers (also Sahm’s partner in the Tornados) providing the signature, telegraph-key organ and Alvin Crow serving as a vocal and instrumental foil for Sahm.

Highlights range from a cover of Charlie Pride’s hit ‘(Is Anybody Goin’ to) San Antone’ in medley with Sahm’s ‘Texas Tornado’ to revivals from the ’60s songbooks of the Kinks (‘Who’ll Be the Next in Line?’), and the Mysterians (’96 Tears’), and legendary Texas ravers the 13th Floor Elevators (‘You’re Gonna Miss Me’). Though Sahm introduces ‘Groover’s Paradise’ as the Austin version of the national anthem, it’s ‘At the Crossroads’ that should be. Throughout the performance, Sahm, band, and the Texas audience are all plainly having a ball.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required