Smiley Lewis – The Smiley Lewis Collection 1947-61 (2 CD Set)


Out of stock

SKU: 824046315726 Categories: , Tag:


Release Date:  2016

Label:  Acrobat Music


Track List

Disc 1

1 Turn On Your Volume Baby
2 Here Comes Smiley
3 Tee-Nah-Nah
4 Lowdown
5 Slide Me Down
6 Growing Old
7 Dirty People
8 If You Ever Loved A Woman
9 Bee’s Boogie
10 My Baby Was Right
11 The Bells Are Ringing
12 Lillie Mae
13 Gumbo Blues
14 It’s So Peaceful
15 Gypsy Blues
16 You’re Not The One
17 Play Girl
18 Big Mamou
19 Caldonia’s Party
20 Oh Baby
21 Little Fernandez
22 It’s Music
23 Down The Road
24 Blue Monday
25 I Love You For Sentimental Reasons
26 The Rocks
27 Can’t Stop Loving You
28 That Certain Door

Disc 2

1 Ooh La La
2 Jailbird
3 Farewell
4 Real Gone Lover
5 Nobody Knows
6 I Hear You Knocking
7 Bumpity Bump
8 Queen Of Hearts
9 Come On
10 One Night
11 Ain’t Gonna Do It
12 She’s Got Me (Hook, Line And Sinker)
13 Please Listen To Me
14 Someday You’ll Want Me
15 Down Yonder (We Go Ballin’)
16 Shame, Shame, Shame
17 No No
18 You Are My Sunshine
19 Sweeter Words (Have Never Been Told)
20 Go On Fool
21 Goin’ To Jump And Shout
22 Rootin’ And Tootin’
23 I Can’t Believe
24 Bad Luck Blues
25 School Days Are Back Again
26 Lil’ Liza Jane
27 Oh Red!
28 I Want To Be With Her
29 Last Night
30 Ain’t Goin’ There No More
31 Stormy Monday Blues



Smiley Lewis was one of the unluckiest artists to emerge during the R&B era of the early ‘50s and the formative years of rock ‘n’ roll, overshadowed as he was by another R&B star from New Orleans, Fats Domino, which meant he played second fiddle to Domino throughout his career, and even saw some of his biggest hits and best-known songs, such as “I Hear You Knocking”, “One Night” and “Shame Shame Shame”, covered by other mainstream pop artists. He was signed to Imperial, the same label as Domino, and had the same producer, Dave Bartholomew, which exacerbated his slightly secondary status, and his chart profile was relatively modest, but over the years he consistently recorded some fine blues and R&B material in the distinctive New Orleans style and was considerably more influential than his roster of hits would indicate. This great value 60-track 2-CD set collection comprises the A sides of all his Imperial releases, along with almost all the B sides, plus one of his early 1947 singles for the De Luxe label. It’s a worthy and comprehensive overview of his career.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required