Smoking Time Jazz Club – Mean Tones & High Notes


Out of stock


Release Date:

Label: Smoking Time Jazz Club


Track List

  1. Willie The Weeper
  2. Somebody’s Been Lovin’ My Baby
  3. Savoy Blues
  4. Keep It To Yourself
  5. Put ‘Em Down Blues
  6. Friction
  7. Farewell Blues
  8. Breeze
  9. Playin’ My Saxophone
  10. Big Chief Battle Axe
  11. Railroad Blues
  12. Blue Trombone Stomp
  13. Love Songs Of The Nile



  • Sarah Peterson – vocals
  • John Joyce – bass
  • Mike Voelker – drums
  • Jack Pritchett – trumpet
  • Russell Ramirez – trombone
  • Brett Gardner – 6 string banjo, guitar
  • Joel Goldberg – clarinet, tenor saxophone
  • James Evans – clarinet, c-melody saxophone, vocals track 9



Smoking Time Jazz Club is celebrating their tenth year as a working traditional jazz band in New Orleans. There is a coruscating musical tradition to draw from in the city of New Orleans and their aim is to bring that music and those great musical ideas into the future and to play them with reverence and gratitude for those who created and lived them.

The sounds on their new album Mean Tones And High Notes grow hair go blind and explode. The horns growl, hiss, cough and squeak as notes bend, break, weaken, collapse and leave home. Rhythms spill over in syncopation and are compulsively juggled in handfuls then flung wildly away.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required