Snooks Eaglin – Country Boy In New Orleans


In stock

SKU: 09629703482 Categories: , Tag:


Release Date: 1955 / 1967 / 1991

Label: Arhoolie Records


Track List

  1. Country Boy Down In New Orleans
  2. Mama Don’t You Tear My Clothes
  3. I’ve had My Fun
  4. Bottle Up And Go
  5. Give Me The Good Old Boxcar
  6. Walking Blues
  7. Possum Up A Simmon Tree
  8. That’s All Right
  9. Veal Chop And Pork Chop
  10. Down By The Riverside
  11. Model T And The Train
  12. Jack O’Diamonds
  13. Death Valley Blues
  14. Rock Me Mama
  15. John Henry
  16. Locomotive Train
  17. I Had A Little Woman
  18. Rock Me Mama
  19. Mailman Passed
  20. Going Back To New Orleans
  21. Mardi Gras Mambo
  22. Bottle Up And Go
  23. This Train



  • Snooks Eaglin – vocals, guitars, washboard, tom-toms
  • Lucius Bridges – washboard, vocals
  • Percy Randolph – harmonica, vocals



Fird “Snooks” Eaglin (1936?–2007) was a singer and self-taught guitarist. A New Orleans native, Eaglin lost his sight as a young child, and he crafted his unique sound with just his voice and a guitar he received as a birthday present. First recorded by folklorist Harry Oster in the 1950s, his musical repertoire included blues, country, and folk, all sung in his soulful style. His career continued into the 21st century with appearances at iconic New Orleans venues and the annual New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required