The Meters – A Message from the Meters (3LP Set)


Out of stock



Release Date:  2022

Label:  Real Gone Music


Track List

Side A

  1. Sophisticated Cissy
  2. Sehorns Farms
  3. Cissy Strut
  4. Here Comes the Meter Man
  5. Ease Back
  6. Ann
  7. Dry Spell
  8. Little Old Money Maker

Side B

  1. Look-Ka Py Py
  2. This Is My Last Affair
  3. Chicken Strut
  4. Hey! Last Minute
  5. Hand Clapping Song
  6. Joog

Side C

  1. A Message from the Meters
  2. Zony Mash
  3. Stretch Your Rubber Band
  4. Groovy Lady
  5. (The World Is a Bit under the Weather) Doodle-Oop
  6. I Need More Time
  7. Good Old Funky Music
  8. Sassy Lady

Side D

  1. Do the Dirt
  2. Smiling
  3. Cabbage Alley
  4. The Flower
  5. Chug-Chug-Chug-A-Lug (Push ‘N’ Shove) Part I
  6. Chug-Chug-Chug-A-Lug (Push ‘N’ Shove) Part II

Side E

  1. Hey Pocky A-Way
  2. Africa
  3. People Say
  4. Loving You Is on My Mind
  5. They All Ask’d for You
  6. Running Fast (Long Version)

Side F

  1. Disco Is the Thing Today
  2. Mr. Moon
  3. Trick Bag
  4. Find Yourself
  5. Be My Lady
  6. No More Okey Doke



How would you like to hear a new side—or should we say sides—of the world’s greatest funk band? This 3-LP, 40-track collecton presents the A and B-side of every single that organist Art Neville, guitarist Leo Nocentelli, bassist George Porter, Jr., and drummer Joseph “Zigaboo” Modeliste cut for the Josie, Reprise & Warner Bros. label, virtually their entire singles output (all but two co-produced by the late, great Allen Toussaint) save for a few odds ‘n’ ends issued mostly overseas. That means that you not only get every hit along with its hard-to-find B-side but also the rare single mixes, including the especially rare original mono single mixes of the 1968-1971 Josie sides, very few of which have appeared on vinyl since their original 45 release (the first three LP sides are all mono; the last three, featuring the later Reprise and Warner Bros. singles, presents all stereo single mixes). These songs represent the mother lode of New Orleans funk, classic tracks like “Sophisticated Cissy,” “Cissy Strut,” “Look-Ka Py Py,” “Chicken Strut,” “Hand Clapping Song,” “Hey Pocky A-Way,” and more. And, with liner notes by Bill Dahl featuring quotes from Nocentelli, Neville, and Porter, this 3- LP set offers the best vinyl retrospective to date of this enormously influential band. And how’s the sound? Well, after extensive and exhaustive tape research, we were able to come up with original tape sources for all but five of these single sides, and the remastering—by Mike Milchner at SonicVision—is tight. Now available in a lower-priced black vinyl version for crate-diggers everywhere!

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required