The Meters – The Meters (Ltd Edition Clear Vinyl LP)


Out of stock



Release Date:  2023

Label:  Jackpot Records


Track List

Side A

  1. Cissy Strut
  2. Here Comes The Meter Man
  3. Cardova
  4. Live Wire
  5. Art
  6. Sophisticated Cissy

Side B

  1. Ease Back
  2. 6V6 LA
  3. Sehorns Farm
  4. Ann
  5. Stormy
  6. Simple Song



Cut from the Original Analog Master tapes

Clear Vinyl Limited to 500 copies

The Meters is the 1969 debut studio album by the band of the same name. It is an essential album in the funk scene and one that contains a lot of energy and soul. Organist Art Neville led the quartet which consisted of guitarist Leo Nocentelli, the rhythm section of bassist George Porter and drummer Joseph ‘Zigaboo’ Modeliste. New Orleans funk in their beauty of simplicity, it’s what makes this album so remarkable. Each and every song is brimming with hooks, melody and variety. Deep grooves on the single hit ‘Cissy Strut’ and guitar riffs echoing throughout ‘Ease Back’. The Meters are considered the true originators of funk along with artists like James Brown. Their work is influential on many other artists.

Produced by Allen Toussaint

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required