Various Artists – Our New Orleans (Vinyl 2-LP Set)


In stock


*This is an Expanded Edition Vinyl 2-LP Set*

Release Date: 2021

Label:  Nonesuch Records

Remastered, expanded reissue of 2005’s Our New Orleans Double LP set includes five previously unreleased tracks



Track List

Side A

  1. Yes We Can Can – Allen Toussaint
  2. World I Never Made – Dr. John
  3. Back Water Blues – Irma Thomas
  4. Gather By The River – Davell Crawford
  5. Cryin’ In The Streets – Buckwheat Zydeco

Side B

  1. Canal Street Blues – Dr. Michael White
  2. Brother John Is Gone / Herc-Jolly-John – Wild Magnolias
  3. When the Saints Go Marching In – Eddie Bo
  4. My Feet Can’t Fail Me Now – Dirty Dozen Brass Band
  5. Tou’ les jours c’est pas la meme (Every Day Is Not the Same) – Carol Fran

Side C

  1. L’ouragon – BeauSoleil
  2. Do You Know What It Means To Miss New Orleans – Preservation Hall Jazz Band
  3. Prayer For New Orleans – Charlie Miller
  4. What A Wonderful World – The Wardell Querzegue Orchestra feat. Donald Harrison
  5. Tiptina And Me – Allen Toussaint
  6. Louisiana 1927 – Randy Newman & The Louisiana Philharmonic Orchestra with members of the New York Philharmonic

Side D

  1. Do You Know What It Means – Davell Crawford
  2. Let’s Work Together – Buckwheat Zydeco & Ry Cooder
  3. Crescent City Serenade – Dr. Michael White
  4. Walking By The River – Dr. John
  5. Do You Know What I Means – Wardell Quezergue Orchestra feat. Donald Harrison



When Hurricane Katrina struck New Orleans in 2005, some of the city’s most beloved musicians gathered to record a benefit album, Our New Orleans. On January 29, 2021 a remastered, expanded edition of that record will be reissued on vinyl. The 2LP set includes five previously unreleased tracks: “Do You Know What It Means,” by Davell Crawford; “Let’s Work Together,” by Buckwheat Zydeco and Ry Cooder; “Crescent City Serenade,” by Dr. Michael White; “Walking By the River,” by Dr. John; and “Do You Know What It Means,” by The Wardell Quezergue Orchestra featuring Donald Harrison.

The $1.5 million raised from the 2005 release went toward providing housing in partnership with low-income musicians and others through the New Orleans Habitat Musicians’ Village, a concept that was developed by New Orleans Area Habitat for Humanity, working with Branford Marsalis and Harry Connick, Jr. Habitat-built homes in the village now provide musicians and others of modest means the opportunity to buy decent, affordable housing. The centerpiece of the village is the Ellis Marsalis Center for Music, dedicated to celebrating the music and musicians of New Orleans and to the education and development of homeowners and others who live nearby.

For Our New Orleans, many of the Crescent City’s best-known musicians recorded songs that are integral to their lives and that express their feelings about the city and the trauma of Katrina. The album was made swiftly and simply, over the course of a month, in one-day sessions across the country. Nick Spitzer, host of public radio’s New Orleans-based American Routes, contributed liner notes to the record, as did Pulitzer Prize-winning author Richard Ford, also a Crescent City resident. Other producers who made enormous contributions include Mark Bingham, Ry Cooder, Joel and Adam Dorn, Steve Epstein, Joe Henry, Doug Petty, Matt Sakakeeny, and Hal Willner.

Nonesuch’s parent company-Warner Records, part of the Warner Music Group-donated all production costs for Our New Orleans as part of the Group’s larger efforts on behalf of hurricane victims on the Gulf Coast. Many others involved in creating the album also generously donated their time and services.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required