Amina Figarova – Road To The Sun (CD)


In stock

SKU: 74245105122 Categories: , Tag:


Release Date: 2019

Label: Amfi Records

Track List

  1. Road To The Sun
  2. All We Dance
  3. Snow Mess
  4. Explorations
  5. Tumbling Prisms
  6. Morning Mist
  7. Fall Eclipse
  8. On My Way
  9. Cool Breeze
  10. Circles
  11. No Time For



On Road To The Sun, pianist/composer Amina Figarova celebrates her band’s 20th anniversary. The initial inspiration for this troupe was to create a small unit that could convey the scope and power of a big band. By that measure, she’s succeeded, wildly. A key component is Bart Platteau, her husband and longtime creative partner. The skillful blending of his flute with Alex Pope Norris’ warm brass and the reeds of Wayne Escoffery and Marc Mommaas creates a shimmering, collective voice.

On this outing, the core sextet is augmented with violin, viola and cello on half of the tracks, the bandleader expanding the timbral canvas inventively by making the strings an integral component, rather than mere layering.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required