Deadboy & The Elephantmen – We Are Night Sky


Out of stock


Release Date: 2005

Label: Fat Possum Records


Track List

  1. Stop, I’m Already Dead
  2. No Rainbow
  3. How Long The Night Was
  4. Ancient Man
  5. Dressed In Smoke
  6. Blood Music
  7. Walking Stick
  8. Kissed By Lightning
  9. Misadventures Of Dope
  10. Break It Off
  11. Evil Friend
  12. What The Stars Have Eaten



They’re a roots-punk duo with a boy on the guitar and a girl on drums, but Deadboy and the Elephantmen prove that they’re no cut-rate White Stripes on their shadowy, bayou-meets-garage debut, We Are Night Sky. Fresh-scrubbed twenty-eight-year-old singer Dax Riggs is an Indiana boy with New Orleans dreams, weaned on whiskey and blues; his low Delta howl is the pretty, pained yelp of a wounded swamp animal. And unlike Meg White, Tessie Brunet, 23, is a powerhouse behind the drums. Riggs cribs a hot-and-bothered guitar line from Prince’s “Kiss” on the sexy funeral stomp “Stop, I’m Already Dead.” The addictive punk-blues explosion “Blood Music” fairly oozes with raw shimmy and shake. If rocking hard is a crime, Deadboy are headed straight for the electric chair.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required