Dr. John – Dr John’s New Orleans Swamp (Vinyl 2LP)


Out of stock


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date: 2022

Label:  WHP


Track List

Side A

  1. Professor Longhair & The Meters – She Walked Right In/Shake Rattle & Roll
  2. Professor Longhair & The Meters – Tipitina
  3. Professor Longhair & The Meters – Whole Lotta Lovin’
  4. Professor Longhair & The Meters – Every Day I Have The Blues

Side B

  1. Earl King & The Meters – Mama & Papa
  2. Earl King & The Meters – Those Lonely, Lonely Nights

Side C

  1. Call A Doctor
  2. Qualified
  3. Quitters Never Win
  4. Such A Night
  5. The Meters – Look-Ka-Py-Py/Jungle Man

Side D

  1. Right Place Wrong Time
  2. Big Chief Feat. Professor Longhair & Earl King



Double vinyl LP pressing. The 1974 season finale of the Chicago based Soundstage series came billed as Dr. John’s New Orleans Swamp. A wild southern party featuring the cream of New Orleans music scene. Some sort of Louisiana soup bone including Earl King’s downhome blues, Professor Longhair’s colorful creole pianism, The Meters’ swampy, gritty grooves, and Dr. John himself with his special mix of funk, blues, psychedelia and African music. Gumbo is ready! Are you?

The Meters

Art Neville – Organ, Vocals
George Porter Jr – Bass, Vocals
Leo Nocentelli – Guitar, Vocals
Zigaboo Modeliste – Drums
Cyril Neville – Percussion

Dr. John & The Night Trippers

Dr. John – Piano, Vocals
Art Neville – Organ
Alvin Robinson – Guitar
Robert Lee Popwell – Bass
James Black – Drums
Robbie Montgomery – Vocals
Jessie Smith – Vocals



You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required