Junior Kimbrough and the Soul Blues Boys – Sad Days Lonely Nights (Vinyl LP)


Out of stock

SKU: 045778030613 Categories: , Tags: ,


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  1997

Label:  Fat Possum Records


Track List

Side A

1. Sad Days Lonely Nights    4:25
2. Lonesome In My Home    4:33
3. Lord, Have Mercy On Me    9:53
4. Crawling King Snake    4:43
5. My Mind Is Rambling    6:20

Side B

1. Leaving In The Morning    7:18
2. Old Black Mattie    6:40
3. I’m In Love    5:04
4. Pull Your Clothes Of   4:27
5. I’m Gonna Have To Leave Here    6:35



Bass Guitar – Garry Burnside
Drums – Cedrick Jackson
Guitar – Junior Kimbrough
Guitar – Kenny Brown
Vocals – Junior Kimbrough



If All Night Long was a great electric blues portrait, this sophomore release, given more widespread distribution via Fat Possum’s deal with Capricorn, is an extension of the portrait, but with a lot more grit and grind thrown in, given a darker, deeper sound by a change in location (still Kimbrough’s joint, but a different building). The vocals are further back, buried in the thick, heavy electric mix — some of this music here is Southern electric blues sounding about the way it might when the apocalypse is just around the corner. Forget the fancy stuff, the polished edges, the studio touches — there are no second takes, no overdubs, no last chances. It’s terrifyingly compelling at times. Junior Kimbrough plays the blues with a raw edge, and it’s brilliant, dark and mesmerizing.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required