Kenny Brown – Stingray


In stock

SKU: 045778034420 Categories: , Tags: ,


Release Date:  2003

Label:  Fat Possum Records


Track List

1. If Down Was Up
2. Miss Maybelle
3. All I Want
4. Cocaine Bill
5. France Chance
6. Goin’ Down South
7. You Don’t Know My Mind
8. Shake Em’On Down
9. Lonesome Katy Blues
10. Brought You To The City
11. Fare Thee Well Blues



  • Kenny Brown – guitar, vocals
  • Takeeshi Imura – bass
  • Cedric Burnside – drums
  • John Wilson – bass, guitar



Kenny Brown is definitely a bluesman. The man has served his apprenticeship with the best and usually hands out his guitar shingle with R.L. Burnside. But this outing finds him doing a great job of leading the band. Three songs come from Burnside (“Miss Maybelle,” the frantic shuffle “Goin’ Down South,” and “Shake ‘Em on Down”), while most of the rest are traditional, including the roaring “France Chance” and “Cocaine Bill,” where the bass does a perfect imitation of a cakewalk tuba. Brown lets his trademark slide sing throughout, with a wonderfully raw tone, while his voice carries the weight of years heavily — he doesn’t just sing the blues, he lives them. To hear him on the goodbye of “Fare Thee Well Blues” is to experience loneliness. With a tight band of Cedric Burnside and Takeeshi Imura, he can handle anything, put the grease on it, and take it down home. If you’re looking for the real deal, look no further.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required