Professor Longhair – Red Beans ‘N’ Rice (CD)


In stock


Release Date: 2009

Label: Great American Music Company


Track List

  1. Mardi Gras In New Orleans   (Original Star Talent Recordings)
  2. Professor Longhair’s Boogie
  3. Bye Bye Baby
  4. She Ain’t Got No Hair
  5. Stompin’ With Fess   (Sea Saint, New Orleans Sessions)
  6. Jambalaya
  7. Doin’ It
  8. How Long Has The Rain Been Gone
  9. Junko Partner   (Fess Live In New Orleans)
  10. Hey Now Baby
  11. Hey Little Girl
  12. Everyday I Have The Blues
  13. Big Chief
  14. Tipitina



An enigmatic pianist and vocalist whose hip-shaking, Caribbean-influenced sound in many ways is the archetype of the New Orleans R&B genre, Roy Byrd was the foundation upon which the careers of Fats Domino, Allen Toussaint, and countless others were built. RED BEANS ‘N’ RICE contains many of ‘Fess’s best-known songs, including the Mardi Gras standards “Mardi Gras in New Orleans” and “Tipitina,” as well as “Big Chief,” a virtual Rosetta Stone of Big Easy 88’s-tickling. That said, the versions included here are a bit of a mixed bag; about half the tracks appear to be from the same 1979 club date documented on Fuel 2000’s BIG EASY STRUT release, while others are much earlier studio tracks also available on older compilations. While certainly not the most representative, best-sounding, or most complete introduction to Professor Longhair, RED BEANS ‘N’ RICE is nevertheless a fine collection of music from an iconic artist.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required