Rockin’ Dopsie, Jr. & The Zydeco Twisters – Zydeco Man


In stock


Release Date:  2000

Label:  Mardi Gras Records


Track List

  1. I’m The Zydeco Man
  2. Jambalaya
  3. Lucille
  4. Aye Tete Fee
  5. Party Down
  6. Ooh Poo Pa Doo
  7. Keep A Knockin’
  8. Bad Luck And Trouble
  9. Show Me How To Zydeco
  10. Tell Me Why
  11. Bring Back The Old Time Zydeco
  12. How Sweet It Is
  13. Listen To The Music



This Rockin’ Dopsie, Jr. disc serves as a good introduction to what might now be called old-time zydeco. This zydeco band veteran recorded a solid group of songs in his style and also some songs not associated with the genre, showing how to take a standard like “How Sweet It Is” and zydeco it up. There is a closeness here that comes from family — and that is particularly what this disc shows. This band was originally Rockin’ Dopsie Jr.’s father’s band and contains two of his brothers, Alton “Dopsie” Rubin Jr. on drums and Anthony “Dopsie” Rubin on accordion. The rest of the band — one of the best around — is a solid unit anchored by the guitar work of Paul “Lil’ Buck” Sinegal and Alonzo Johnson on bass. One problem with this disc is that it doesn’t come near to capturing the electric vibrant energy that Rockin’ Dopsie Jr. emits on stage. He could be likened to James Brown as a bundle of dancing energy on the stage. The songs on this disc are too many of the standard songs associated with zydeco — “Ay-Te Te Fee” and “I’m the Zydeco Man,” both written by Clifton Chenier — and his tunes that have become standards, such as “Party Down” and “Lucille.” There isn’t enough new material to wake the listener up. He does do a great job on the Jessie Hill classic “Ooh Poo Pa Do.” But, still, it is good solid zydeco and this band is tough to beat.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required