Peter Stampfel – Peter Stampfel’s 20th Century in 100 Songs (5-CDs & Book)


In stock


Release Date:  2021

Label:  Louisiana Red Hot


Track List

  1. I Love You Truly
  2. Under The Bamboo Tree
  3. Ida
  4. Toyland
  5. Whistler And His Dog
  6. Nobody
  7. School Days
  8. Take Me Out To The Ball Game
  9. Ace In The Hole
  10. Ah, Sweet Mystery Of Life
  11. Put Your Arms Around Me Honey (Hold Me Tight)
  12. Ragtime Cowboy Joe
  13. Row Row Row
  14. By the Beautiful Sea
  15. They Didn’t Believe Me
  16. Poor Butterfly
  17. Look For The Silver Lining
  18. ‘Til We Meet Again
  19. Stumblin’
  20. Swinging Down The Lane
  21. Charleston
  22. I’m Forever Blowing Bubbles
  23. Let The Rest Of The World Go By
  24. Somebody Loves Me
  25. I Never Knew
  26. Who?
  27. Blue Skies
  28. My Heart Stood Still
  29. Wedding Of The Painted Doll
  30. My Ideal
  31. Out Of Nowhere
  32. Home
  33. Lazybones
  34. Moonglow
  35. East Of The Sun
  36. The Way You Look Tonight
  37. Where Or When
  38. My Reverie
  39. They Say It’s Wonderful
  40. Indian Summer
  41. Oh, Look At Me Now
  42. I Remember You
  43. Pistol Packin’ Momma
  44. Long Ago And Far Away
  45. Love On A Greyhound Bus
  46. All Through The Day
  47. How Are Things In Glocca Morra?
  48. Blue Shadows On The Trail
  49. Slipping Around
  50. It Isn’t Fair
  51. Jezebel
  52. Night Train
  53. Tennessee Wig Walk
  54. Hearts Made Of Stone
  55. Shambolar
  56. I’m In Love Again
  57. Chicken, Baby, Chicken
  58. Rave On
  59. Handy Man
  60. Running Bear
  61. Moon River
  62. I Sold My Heart To The Junkman
  63. Momma Didn’t Lie
  64. The Years
  65. Concrete And Clay
  66. Along Comes Mary
  67. Waterloo Sunset
  68. Goodbye
  69. Log Cabin Home In The Sky
  70. Let’s Work Together
  71. Chirpy Chirpy Cheep Cheep
  72. Eyes Eyes
  73. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
  74. September Gurls
  75. Tangled Up In Blue
  76. I Wanna Be Your Boy Friend
  77. 2 4 6 8 Motorway
  78. Have You Ever Fallen In Love
  79. I Will Survive
  80. Girl’s Talk
  81. Dancing With Myself
  82. Stepping Out
  83. Swingin’
  84. You Take Me Up
  85. Drink American
  86. My Hometown
  87. Don’t Dream It’s Over
  88. Everybody Knows
  89. She Drives Me Crazy
  90. Women And Men
  91. Texarkana
  92. Laura The Horse
  93. Loser
  94. Earth To Grandma
  95. Common People
  96. Wannabee
  97. The Way
  98. Tubthumping
  99. In Spite Of Ourselves
  100. Yellow



Louisiana Red Hot Records release “Peter Stampfel’s 20th Century” is an epic 100 song collection. The 5 Disc box set is augmented by an impressive 30,000+ words in an 88 page booklet that outlines the history of each selection alongside tales from the singular life of the artist, with pithy production notes from producer Mark Bingham added for good measure. Rolling Stone said: “Oddball Folkie Peter Stampfel’s Spice Girls Cover Is a Daring Stunt That Works.” Bob Boilen for NPR’s All Songs Considered said: “Peter Stampfel is an absolute eccentric whose obsession with American popular music in the 20th century is unlike anyone I’ve ever known.”

Features Mark Bingham, Michael Cerveris, Jonathan Frelich, Michot’s Melody Makers, Alex McMurray, Amasa Miller and Sarah Quintana.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required