Various Artists – Southern Bred: Mississippi R&B Rockers Vol. 4


In stock


Release Date: 2019

Label: Koko Mojo


Track List

  • Arthur Crudup – Hey Mama, Everything’s All Right
  • Louis Mayers And The Aces – Just Whalin’
  • Sunnyland Slim – It’s You Baby
  • Otis Rush – It Takes Time
  • Howlin’ Wolf – Down in the Bottom
  • Little Willie Foster – Little Girl
  • Big Bill and His Guitar – Little City Woman
  • Little Johnny Jones And The Chicago Hound Dogs ‎ – I May Be Wrong
  • Otis Rush – My Baby’s A Good’un
  • Magic Sam – Look Whacha Doing
  • Doctor Ross – Shake -A- My Hand
  • Big Bill Broonzy – Jacqueline
  • Little Milton – If You Love Me
  • Willie Dixon – Slim’s Thing
  • Magic Sam – Love Me With A Feeling
  • Willie Dixon – Built For Comfort
  • Betty Everett – My Love
  • Sunnyland Slim – Highway 61
  • Howlin’ Wolf – Wang-Dang-Doodle
  • Arthur Crudup – Who’s Been Foolin’ You
  • Big Bill Broonzy & His Big Little Orchestra – Tomorrow
  • Rufus Thomas – Tiger Man
  • Doctor Ross & His Jump, Jive Boys – Doctor Ross Boogie
  • Elmore James and His Broomdusters – Rock My Baby Right
  • Otis Rush – Sit Down Baby
  • Howlin’ Wolf – You’ll Be Mine
  • Big Bill Broonzy & His Fat Four – You’ve Been Mistreating Me
  • Little Milton – Losin’ Hand



The tradition of blues music carried over from generation to generation with novice learning from masters and intern benefitting from enhanced studio expertise. The album is full of variety and the development of the music and migration north brings changes to the sound. The album’s focus is on 1950s recordings however from the early 1960s a new style and musical direction was developing, and we include some of these recordings. The artistic mix is varied, and well-known names include; Big Bill Broonzy, Howlin’ Wolf, Doctor Ross, Elmore James and alongside these we include hip blues from; Louis Mayers, Little Willie Foster, Duke Jenkins and song thrush Betty Everett who became a pop music hit maker. Historically numerous artists migrated from their birthplace, and for many Chicago was the blues mecca. Within this series the auditory of those who stayed within their home areas is clear, and for those who migrated mainly the backing was different, the blues became ‘electric’. None the less rarely were the downhome blues intonations not apparent in the early big city recordings. The African American folk traditions no matter where the musicians travelled were deep inside these performers. This ‘Koko Mojo’ album is compiled by well-known Dee Jay and face on the music scene Mark Armstrong, who has been Dee Jaying since his early teen years. Our albums have; stunning design, sleeve notes, 28 songs, mastered for the best possible sound. The disc is housed in an attractively designed cardboard sleeve, specially designed to avoid the use of plastic and be environmentally friendly. The album is great to play at home and perfect for Dee Jays who will find good dance-floor filling songs.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required