Young Olympians – New Orleans Jazz Classics: A Tribute To Louis Armstrong


In stock


Release Date:  1993

Label:  Mardi Gras Records


Track List

  1. Ain’t Misbehavin’
  2. What A Wonderful World
  3. Basin Street
  4. Dark Down Strutters Ball
  5. Monday’s Date
  6. Back O’ Town Blues
  7. Lord, Lord
  8. Canal Street Blues
  9. Mardi Gras In New Orleans
  10. Jesus Is On The Main Line
  11. Big Leg Woman
  12. Sleepy time Down South



  • Milton Batiste – trumpet, vocals
  • Byron Bernard – clarinet, tenor sax, vocals
  • Mervin Campbell – trumpet, vocals
  • Tyrus Chapman – trombone
  • Damion Francois – trombone, tuba
  • Lumar LeBlanc – snare drums
  • Derrick Moss – bass drum
  • Greg Tardy – tenor sax
  • Rev. Curtis Watson – trumpet



More young traditional jazz and repertory groups are emerging, especially in the New Orleans area. This Crescent City ensemble, the Young Olympians, aren’t strictly a brass band but more of a complete traditional orchestra, doing everything from stomps to struts, marches, and spirituals. They’re mainly paying homage to Louis Armstrong on this 12-song set, although they also do excellent versions of Fats Waller’s “Ain’t Misbehavin'” and King Oliver’s “Canal Street Blues.”

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required